Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Javan Musafiri, Nakivale Young Refugee Artist, Uganda

"I do art to make the world full of love, peace and unity among human beings and to make the world believe in art as the universal language."

Meet Javan Musafiri, 18-year old Congolese refugee artist living in the Nakivale Refugee Settlement Camp in Uganda since 2016. He arrived when he was 10 years old with 7 members of his family.

Javan is a member of the artist collective at Nakivale Young Talent Community (NYTC) and is one of 15 volunteer facilitator/mentors to the 40+ children ages 5-18 who access NYTC’s free arts education programming. For more information on NYTC, read the story on founder Akon Deograce I published on Day 51.

A Budding Artist’s Career: Early Successes & Frustrations

I asked Javan what his biggest achievement has been in his artistic career so far. He referenced two. First, joining his fellow artists at NYTC as a facilitator/mentor.

What I like mostly about teaching young children is that I'm forming new future artists who will be able to express themselves into art and also bringing them into the world of art.

And, second winning an art competition in 2022.

I won an art competition with Faces Up Uganda in 2022. The art piece was painted on the theme "BETTER PRODUCTION.” I felt extremely happy and I got motivated to continue doing art.

“Better Production” by Javan Musafiri

When I asked about his biggest disappointment, he answered “poor marketing following the competition.” This is a common theme of frustration among artists living in Nakivale. The desire to sell original art is high with the promise of potential income. But, shipping costs are high and the nearest DHL office is two hours away.

Prints seem to be the next best option but the market for their amazing art work is still niche enough to require someone savvy in the Contemporary African Art market. I manage a RedBubble site for the artists and have ordered some prints myself from the site; they are high quality! Despite the challenges, we continue to look for options to sell originals.

For the artists who barely subsist on a ration of USD$5 per month, funding a bus ride north to ship an original painting, much less making the sale, feels far out of reach. To provide regular support to the artists (materials, supplies, and even a food program for the art students), I’ve set up the Young Refugee Artist Support Circle on my other Substack - The Creative Convergence. The Circle is subscription based and there are fun rewards and perks as a token of gratitude.

Coming Soon: Postcards and Notecards

While paints are in short supply as are buyers for original art, the artists keep working with what they have. Coming soon: Nakivale mini-prints that make perfect postcards or thank you notes.

Javan’s Style

Most artists have a personal style or hallmark. You can look at their work and clearly identify it as belonging to one artist or another. With Javan, at least for me, I experience this. His use of yellow is distinct as shown in these pieces.

The Rhythm of Prosperity (left): This art piece has been a new experience painting my emotions linked to an instrumental music which I listen to when I am in meditations and sometimes when I want to paint. Whenever I listen to that music, I feel like I shall achieve great things in my life. When I was painting this art piece the brush was led by my emotions and not my mind. The music is Divenire by Ludovico Einaudi. So, this artpiece represents my positive emotions because I feel hopeful when I listen to Divenire. Size 54 cm x 39 cm, Acrylic on canvas.

The Shape of Us (right): This painting shows the shape which every human being must have on earth to create a meaningful humanity. I painted a person who has hands which are united which represent the spirit of solidarity, and a love face which represents the love identity. Working with solidarity creates love among us which shall make love our identity. Where there is love there is nothing to fear. Size 60 cm x 60 cm, Acrylic on canvas.

Why Africa? By Javan Musafiri

I can’t put my finger on exactly what makes a Javan piece a Javan piece, but there is something there. And, it’s not just yellow. Do you agree?

Leave a comment

30 Art Pieces in 3 Days

Javan and the NYTC artists, less than one month after the June 1st Online Young Refugee Art Exhibit that I co-hosted, produced 30 pieces in 3 days, working day and night in advance of UNHCR’s World Refugee Day celebrations. Javan produced the painting below (and another not pictured here), trying out a new method and metaphor.

She’s Special (above left): I painted this art piece for my appreciations of the existence of women on earth. I realized her by small circles which represents the uncountable lives a woman carries in them. Women are the greatest treasure of the world. Size 84 cm x 60 cm. Acrylic on canvas.

On his favorite mediums…

In my art career I have just used acrylic paint, water color, graphite pencil, and colored pencils. Of all of the medium mentioned above, I feel more comfortable with acrylic paint. I’d like to try oil painting, acrylic paint and charcoal pencils.

On Listening to Music While Arting

I like Ludovico Einaudi and I listen to many of his music. My favorite songs of his music I can mention is Divenire, Experience, Nuvole Bianche, Primavera and Life.

On his go-to themes

I paint on numerous themes but mostly I find myself painting about youth and nature (environment). And sometimes I paint about self emotions.

Dreams for the Future

I would travel all over the world with my sketch book drawing different places and exploring new people. I would inspire everyone to join the world of art.

Javan painting at night. On Instagram: @asaphpintor

What He Wants the World To Know

I want the rest of the world to know that I do art to make the world full of love, peace and unity among human beings and to make the world to believe in art as the universal language.

Mansur below and Javan painting a public mural.

Who is Javan’s ChangeMaker?

I have been remiss in not asking the other artists to name their ChangeMaker! This time I remembered!

Javan named Akon Deograce, the founder of NYTC, as his ChangeMaker. The artists in the NYTC collective are very much like family. They take care of one another and come to one another’s aid. The following story is quite the example.

He has been a tremendous help in my life every day, always striving to create opportunities not just for me, but for many youths and children in Nakivale. He is a true ChangeMaker.

I remember one day when my family and I were in a dire situation. We hadn't eaten for two days, and despite our efforts to seek help, no one was willing to assist us. My mother was desperately searching for a way to get money but to no avail. In our time of need, I shared my plight with Akon. Although he didn't have money at that moment, he was determined to help. Akon made the selfless decision to sell his phone and gave all the money to my family, allowing us to buy food.

I always say that I have never met a person like Akon. His generosity and dedication to helping others make him a true ChangeMaker.

Where in the World is Javan?

Discussion about this podcast